Phone +353 64 6635035
Phone +353 64 6635035
Covid 19 Safety Charter
EV Charging

Call Us

+353 64 6635035
Killarney Lakes

Central to Killarney National Park are the world famous Lakes of Killarney, which make up almost a quarter of the Park's area.

The three lakes are known as the Upper Lake, Muckross Lake (Middle Lake) and Lough Leane (Lower Lake), and are joined at the 'meeting of the waters', a popular area for visitors to the Park.

It is here that the Old Weir Bridge (thought to be over 400 years old) can also be seen. From the meeting of the waters a narrow channel known as the Long Range leads to the Upper Lake, which is the smallest of the lakes but set in the most spectacular location, in the heart of the rugged mountain scenery of the upper Killarney Valley/Black Valley area

Muckross Lake is the deepest of the lakes with a maximum depth of approximately 75 metres (250 feet) close to where the steeply sloping face of Torc Mountain enters the lake.

Lough Leane is by far the largest of the three lakes, at approximately 19kmĀ², and is also the richest in nutrients.

There are many Brown Trout in the lakes, in addition to an annual run of Salmon. Unusual fish species include the Arctic Char (usually found much further north, and thought to be a relict species left behind in Killarney after the last ice age).

Killarney Lakes and Mountains